Journey, A Concerto for Cello and Orchestra

Journey, A Concerto for Cello and Orchestra


  • Cello and Orchestra (1996)


Technical Information

Duration – 19:30 

Journey, A Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1996)

  1. Adagio tranquillo, Allegro
  2. Allegro con spirit

Solo vc./2(2=picc).2.2(2=bcl).2./

(alternate 3rd horn part for trombone 1)

Program Notes

“Does the road wind up-hill all the way?

Yes, to the very end.

Will the day’s journey take the whole long day?

From morn to night, my friend.”

–Christina Rossetti

Journey has been designed to have a generalized programmatic element. The opening of the concerto depicts the dawn; the body of the concerto represents the journey; and the conclusion portrays the arrival at the destination. Comprised of two movements to be performed without break, Journey has a rhapsodic feel to contribute to the programmatic element of the composition.

The first movement employs the sonata-allegro form, with an introduction. The main motive in the introduction is presented by two solo violins. The entire concerto is based upon this motive (A, G#, Eb, D). In the main section of the movement (Allegro), the solo cello presents the first theme, which is a variation of the introductory motive. The second theme is presented in a more relaxed tempo (Moderato) yet is still related to the introductory motive.

The second movement is in a ternary or ABA form with an added brief introduction, interlude and coda. The solo cello introduces the A theme, a variation of the introductory motive (A, G#, Eb, D), now altered to A, G#, E, D. The concerto concludes with a coda, which takes as its main theme a variation of the A theme from the second movement, re-introduces material from the first and second movements, and climaxes with exciting cello work while the the flute and clarinet play a restatement of the introductory motive.

Cellist Simon Fryer has performed Journey several times